We need Use another Compiler !

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

bratao

We need Use another Compiler !

Post by bratao »

Hi all, im a developer ,and Reactos Use the Gcc to compile,
I Not test the New gcc 4.0 ,
But with my tests with Gcc 3.4 x Intel Compiler X Visual Studio 2003 i see that with a normal hash application ,compiled with all Optimizeders On,
Gcc applications are 51 % slow than Visual Studio, and 120% slow than Intel Complier.

I cant imagine this results in A bigger Project like Reactos.

The Vs its harder to port, but thats good if we can compile it With the Intel Compiler, We can USe the dozen Optimizers funcions of it.
And The Intel Compiler are Like Gcc, very strict to C.
we can get a Huge speed Boost
Asraniel

Post by Asraniel »

and from where does linux get its speed?
SirTalon

Post by SirTalon »

The reason GCC is used over the other compilers is it is OSS. Also in the past there have been issues with the licensing of the Visual C compiler (which I think wouldn't effect most software, but I think it would in the case of an operating system). In the past I had installed the Intel compiler, but when I tried to compile something it wanted me to install a license for it (idk what terms the license say).

Also with version 4 of GCC a framework has been implemented that will make it much easier for people to write optimizations for different code.

Also does the Intel compiler work at all on non-intel processors (like AMD, Via, or Transmeta)? Also AFAIK the Intel compiler is only available on the x86 platform (possibly x86_64).

That means that GCC is the only option for non-x86 platforms.
"People do have a real life." -- w3seek

Guess that means I'm not a person :-D
oiaohm

gcc 4.0.0 looks to be out for a bit.

Post by oiaohm »

and from where does linux get its speed?
Not just the complier.